Thirteen Black Cats

Corpse Cleaner, 2016
Galerie de l’UQAM
20.10.2016—10.12.2016

Fatal Act: Corpse Cleaner, the latest film produced by the research and production collective Thirteen Black Cats, addresses the legacy of atomic power in the 20th and 21st centuries. This short film focuses on the letters exchanged between Claude Eatherly, the air force pilot whose “all clear” weather report enabled the atomic bombing of Hiroshima, and Günther Anders, the German philosopher, theorist and anti-nuclear activist whose work fixated on technology’s capacity to outpace human intention.

As a voice-over retells the content of the letters, we learn that Hollywood producer Bob Hope approached Eatherly to make a film about his life. Anders actively encouraged Eatherly to refuse the offer. A former movie prop cleaner in the Hollywood Custom Palace, Anders claimed that the Hollywood apparatus would not be able to process this “fatal act”.

Fatal Act: Corpse Cleaner investigates the possibility of filming the “unfilmable”. Anders’ prop closet, where he rubbed, brushed, and vacuumed Hollywood’s costumes, serves as a metaphor for the relationship of art to atomic power. How does one depict such a historically important force when it escapes concrete determination? How does one prevent the representation from becoming a false image, a predetermined imitation of an elusive original? How does one avoid the trap against which Anders cautioned Eatherly without simply retreating from representation altogether (and thereby granting the atomic an untouchable, semi-sacred quality)? While Anders lamented that “our imagination is unable to grasp the effect of what we are producing”, he understood that he had become, in his own words, “history’s corpse cleaner”. —PP

Corpse Cleaner is commissioned and produced by La Biennale de Montréal for BNLMTL 2016, Le Grand Balcon.

Corpse Cleaner is presented by La Biennale de Montréal in partnership with Galerie de l’UQAM.

Biography

Thirteen Black Cats

Corpse Cleaner, 2016
Galerie de l’UQAM
21.10.2016—10.12.2016

Corpse Cleaner, plus récent film du collectif de recherche et de production Thirteen Black Cats, s’intéresse à l’héritage de la puissance atomique aux 20e et 21e siècles. Le court-métrage se penche tout particulièrement sur les lettres échangées par Claude Eatherly, pilote de l’armée de l’air dont le rapport météorologique positif a permis le bombardement atomique d’Hiroshima, et Günther Anders, philosophe, théoricien et militant antinucléaire allemand dont l’œuvre traduit une obsession envers la capacité de la technologie à dépasser les intentions humaines.

Alors qu’une voix hors champ nous rappelle le contenu des lettres, on apprend que le producteur hollywoodien Bob Hope a abordé Eatherly en vue de faire un film sur sa vie. Ancien nettoyeur d’accessoires cinématographiques au Hollywood Custom Palace, Anders lui confie cependant que l’appareil hollywoodien ne serait pas en mesure de traiter cet « acte fatal ».

Corpse Cleaner examine la possibilité de filmer l’« infilmable ». Le placard à accessoires d’Anders, où il frottait, brossait, nettoyait à l’aspirateur les costumes d’Hollywood, est ici une métaphore de la relation entre art et puissance atomique. Comment peut-on représenter une force d’une telle importance historique quand elle échappe à la détermination concrète? Comment peut-on empêcher la représentation de devenir une image fausse, l’imitation prédéterminée d’un original insaisissable? Comment peut-on éviter le piège contre lequel Anders a mis Eatherly en garde sans tout simplement reculer devant la représentation (et ainsi donner à l’atomique une qualité intouchable, semi-sacrée)? Bien qu’Anders regrettait que « notre imagination ne soit pas en mesure de saisir l’effet de ce que l’on produit », il comprenait qu’il était devenu, comme il le disait lui-même, « le nettoyeur de cadavres de l’histoire ».
—PP

Corpse Cleaner est une commande et une production de La Biennale de Montréal pour BNLMTL 2016, Le Grand Balcon.
Corpse Cleaner est presenté par La Biennale de Montréal en partenariat avec la Galerie de l’UQAM.

Biographie