Haig Aivazian

Not Every Day is Spring, 2016
Regroupement Pied Carré, #406
20.10.2016—15.12.2016

Haig Aivazian’s work investigates the relationship between ideologies and life. Taking historical events as points of departure, the artist looks for lesser-known parallel stories from which he builds textured narratives about systems of power and their far-reaching influence.

Begun in 2014, Hastayim Yasiyorum (I am Sick but I am Alive) is a large project that includes sculpture, drawing, performance and video. Here, the artist delves into the history of modal structure in classical and modern Turkish music in general, and the Turkish-Armenian oud master Udi Hrant Kenkulian (1901-1978) in particular. This narrative is historically framed by the demise of the Ottoman Empire, and the ensuing rise of nationalism and drive towards modernity.

Inspired by the traditional form of the oud, Aivazian’s wood and metal sculptures, such as Bridge, are silenced instruments reflecting on the migratory patterns of the Armenian experience. Recognizable shapes and materials are deliberately used, allowing for the association with the particular musical context to occur.  But their precarious balance is a reminder of the troubled histories behind the music.

The new film Not Every Day is Spring is a component of the Hastayim Yasiyorum project. Conceived as a journey through the sites of music production and dissemination in Istanbul, and guided by Kenkulian’s songs, the film features intimate encounters with an unusual cast of musical characters. A parallel storyline follows the trajectory of marble slabs from an Armenian cemetery that once occupied the Taksim and Gezi areas in Instanbul’s centre to their current location. Connecting the present-day city with the movement of people and music, the film becomes a poetic journey resonating with the ghosts of the past.
–AV

Biography

Haig Aivazian

Not Every Day is Spring, 2016
Regroupement Pied Carré, #406
20.10.2016–15.12.2016

L’œuvre de Haig Aivazian examine la relation entre vie et idéologies. Se servant d’événements historiques comme points de départ, l’artiste recherche des histoires parallèles peu connues, à partir desquelles il construit des récits texturés sur les systèmes de pouvoir et leur profonde influence.

Entrepris en 2014, Hastayim Yasiyorum (Je suis malade, mais en vie) est un grand projet incluant sculpture, dessin, performance et vidéo. L’artiste plonge ici dans l’histoire de la structure modale de la musique classique et moderne turque, en particulier chez le maître de l’oud turco-arménien Udi Hrant Kenkulian (1901-1978). Le récit a pour toile de fond historique la chute de l’Empire ottoman, ainsi que la montée du nationalisme et le désir de modernité qui se sont ensuivis.

Inspirées par la forme traditionnelle de l’oud, les sculptures de métal et de bois d’Aivazian, par exemple Bridge, consistent en des instruments réduits au silence qui reflètent les comportements migratoires arméniens. Des formes et des matériaux reconnaissables y sont délibérément utilisés, ce qui permet de les associer à un contexte musical donné. Leur équilibre précaire nous rappelle toutefois les histoires turbulentes qu’il y a derrière la musique.

Le nouveau film Not Every Day is Spring est une composante du projet Hastayim Yasiyorum. Conçu comme un voyage à travers les sites de production et de diffusion musicales d’Istanbul, balisé par les pièces de Kenkulian, on y met de l’avant des rencontres intimes, avec en vedette une distribution inusitée de personnages musicaux. Une autre histoire suit en parallèle la trajectoire de blocs de marbre d’un cimetière arménien ayant autrefois occupé, au centre d’Istanbul, les secteurs de Taksim et de Gezi jusqu’à leur emplacement actuel. En mettant la ville d’aujourd’hui en lien aux déplacements de population et à la musique, le film se change en un voyage poétique qui entre en résonance avec les fantômes du passé.
—AV

Biographie