Elaine Cameron-Weir

Snake 1, Snake 2, Snake 4, 2016
Musée d’art contemporain de Montréal
19.10.2016—15.01.2017

The temporary state of the world as we perceive it holds a central position in the deliberations of Elaine Cameron-Weir. While giving concrete form to her thoughts, her sculptures and installations nevertheless elude any didactic or heuristic function; rather, they are presented as suggestions with variable purposes.

The principle of metamorphosis is the key component of the three serpentine sculptures Snake 1, Snake 2 and Snake 4. These tall, enamelled-copper structures are made up of modular segments arranged so as to resemble the scales of a snakeskin. The delicate steel clips holding them together suggest manual labour as well as the possibility of a decomposition that can create another morphology. However, the obvious snake reference is not insignificant. This animal is known for its ability to shed its skin, and for its symbolic, as well as mythological, legacy with respect to its changes and cyclical transformations.

The three Snakes also invoke the notion of symmetry. Suspended by a system of pulleys, they are held in balance by sandbag counterweights. The visibility of this hanging system hints at some operation that may be performed, altering the way they are displayed in the space. The provisional aspect of what is perceived is underscored, while the viewer is confronted with the juxtaposition of elements that are strictly utilitarian with others that carry a more symbolic meaning. Both the snake and the pulley also link up with the idea of movement and circularity. The contrast between the industrial vocabulary of the hanging system and the more figurative one of the snakeskins consequently fluctuates as well.
—AS

Biography

Elaine Cameron-Weir

Snake 1, Snake 2, Snake 4, 2016
Musée d’art contemporain de Montréal
19.10.2016—15.01.2017

L’état provisoire du monde tel qu’on le perçoit occupe une place centrale dans les réflexions d’Elaine Cameron-Weir. Matérialisant sa pensée, ses sculptures et ses installations échappent toutefois à une fonction didactique ou heuristique : elles se présentent à la manière de suggestions dont les fins sont variables.

Le principe de métamorphose est l’élément clé des trois sculptures serpentines intitulées Snake 1, Snake 2 et Snake 4. Ces hautes structures de cuivre émaillé sont composées d’une multitude de segments modulaires rappelant, par leur agencement, les écailles d’une peau de serpent. Les fines attaches d’acier qui les retiennent évoquent le travail manuel ainsi que la possibilité d’une décomposition qui puisse créer une autre morphologie. Cependant, l’évidente référence au serpent n’est pas anodine. On reconnaît l’animal pour sa capacité à muer et, par son héritage symbolique, entre autres mythologique, pour sa référence aux transformations cycliques et aux changements.

Les trois Snakes mettent également en jeu la notion de symétrie. Suspendus par un système de poulies, leur équilibre est maintenu par des contrepoids de sacs de sable. La visibilité de ce système d’accrochage laisse présager une éventuelle manœuvre qui modifierait la mise en espace de l’ensemble. La dimension provisoire de ce qui est perçu est mise de l’avant, tout en confrontant le spectateur à la juxtaposition d’éléments strictement utilitaires et de charge plus symbolique. Pourtant, le serpent, tout comme la poulie, rejoint l’idée du mouvement et de la circularité. En cela, la confrontation entre le vocabulaire plus industriel du système d’accrochage et celui, plus figuratif, des peaux de serpent est elle aussi fluctuante.
—AS

Biographie