David Lamelas

The Desert People, 1974
Musée d’art contemporain de Montréal
19.10.2016—15.01.2017

David Lamelas’ practice addresses the parameters of time and space, which the Argentinian artist has investigated in installations, performances, photographs, and films ever since he was a young artist shaping Argentina’s avant-garde in the early 1960s.

The Desert People is the first work completed in Los Angeles by Lamelas before his move to that city in 1976. This fictional documentary about a Native American reservation critiques the practice of film production itself. Described by the artist as a “study on American film production” upon arriving in Los Angeles “where I immediately experienced the shock of American culture”, The Desert People merges two well-known cinematic genres, the road movie and the ethnographic documentary, blurring the lines between fact and fiction, and between subject and object.

In the opening scene of the film, images of an American car travelling the desert highway are interrupted by interviews with four of its five passengers. Each of these four white Americans describes his or her personal experience of life on the Papago reservation. While they analyze the community’s social behaviour, there is little self-reflection on their own group dynamic. Ironically, the viewer is left with the lingering feeling that the real subject of Lamelas’ film, the eponymous desert people, are not the Papago but the Angeleños. The final interviewee, Manny, a Papago Indian, laments the way the American influence on Native Americans is leading to the loss of his own indigenous culture. As his English drifts into Spanish and then Papago, the meaning of what he wishes to communicate is lost in translation.
—PP

Biography

David Lamelas

The Desert People, 1974
Musée d’art contemporain de Montréal
19.10.2016 – 15.01.2017

La pratique de David Lamela touche aux paramètres temporels et spatiaux, que l’artiste argentin examine dans des installations, des performances, des photographies et des films depuis l’époque de sa jeunesse où, au début des années 1960, il donnait forme à l’avant-garde de son pays.

The Desert People est la première œuvre que Lamelas a complétée à Los Angeles avant de s’y installer en 1976. Ce documentaire fictif, sur une réserve amérindienne, critique la pratique de la production filmique. Décrit par l’artiste, à son arrivée à Los Angeles « où [il a] immédiatement vécu le choc culturel américain », comme une « étude sur la production cinématographique américaine », The Desert People combine deux genres bien connus, soit le road-movie et le documentaire ethnographique, brouillant ainsi les frontières entre faits et fiction, sujet et objet.

Les images d’une voiture américaine roulant sur une autoroute désertique sont, dans la scène d’ouverture, interrompues par des interviews avec quatre des cinq passagers. Chacun de ces quatre Américains blancs décrit son expérience de vie sur la réserve Papago. Ils analysent les comportements sociaux de la communauté, se livrant toutefois peu à quelque introspection que ce soit sur la dynamique de leur propre groupe. Le spectateur, ironiquement, en garde le sentiment tenace que le véritable sujet du film, le peuple du désert du titre, n’est non pas les Papagos, mais bien les Angelenos. La dernière personne interviewée, un Papago du nom de Manny, regrette la façon dont l’influence américaine sur les Amérindiens entraîne la perte de la culture indigène. Et tandis que son anglais cède peu à peu à l’espagnol, puis au papago, le sens de ce qu’il souhaite communiquer se perd à son tour.
—PP

Biographie