Brian Jungen

Dream Sequins, 1993
Mountie Bottom, 1993
Untitled, 1997
Musée d’art contemporain de Montréal
19.10.2016—15.01.2017

Brian Jungen is a Canadian artist of Swiss and Dane-zaa First Nation heritage whose works explore his own mixed identity in the contemporary globalized world. Jungen achieved international acclaim for his transformation of mundane, mass-produced objects to create anthropomorphic installations that question the political, economic, and social reverberations of cross-cultural sharing. His critique of postmodern culture materially, formally and conceptually destabilizes and blends stereotypes of identity, forwarding ideas of flux and instability.

La Biennale de Montréal presents the rarely seen early works of Jungen. His drawings, created between 1993 and 1997, showcase the critical mindset employed by Jungen to approach sensitive topics about postcolonial identity, family and community. These works offer a wide-ranging dialogue about the relationship between Indigenous and Settler societies in Canada, as well as First Nations and Third World communities. Jungen questions historicity to disrupt stereotypes about heritage and sexuality, and to investigate the particularities of present time and place. His works bring together the political, the sensual and the spiritual implications of identity, and how they manifest in today’s increasingly globalized world.
—EA

Dream SequinsMountie Bottom and Untitled is part of collection of the Morris and Helen Belkin Art Gallery, The University of British Columbia. Purchased with the support of the Canada Council for the Arts Acquisition Assistance program and the Morris and Helen Belkin Foundation, 1998 (BG1838)

Brian Jungen and Geoffrey Farmer
The Lost Drawings of Geoffrey Farmer and Brian Jungen, 1995-1996/2002
Musée d’art contemporain de Montréal
19.10.2016—15.01.2017

Brian Jungen is Canadian artist of mixed Swiss and Dane-zaa First Nation heritage. His work addresses notions of mixed identity through formal and material explorations on the political, economic and social implications of cross-cultural sharing. Canadian artist Geoffrey Farmer is known for combining drawing, film, sculpture, collage, performance, photography and found objects to create playful and complex installations that present his own take on literary, theatrical, and cinematic histories.

After studying together in the early 1990s at the Emily Carr University of Art & Design, Jungen and Farmer shared a studio in Vancouver wherein they collaborated on many process-based works. The Lost Drawings of Geoffrey Farmer and Brian Jungendemonstrates their early interests in identity politics and cultural studies. This series of surreal collages comprise found pages of snowboarding magazines on top of which the artists drew black Grim Reaper figures. Playing on the Surrealist idea of the “cadavre exquis”, their sinisterly humour debunks stereotypes about masculinity, sexuality, and male-centric snowboarding culture to impart new ideas about identity in contemporary life.

The Lost Drawings of Geoffrey Farmer and Brian Jungen is part of the collection of the Morris and Helen Belkin Art Gallery, The University of British Columbia, anonymous gift, 2007

Biography

Brian Jungen

Dream Sequins, 1993
Mountie Bottom, 1993
Untitled, 1997
Musée d’art contemporain de Montréal
19.10.2016—15.01.2017

Brian Jungen est un artiste canadien d’origine suisse et amérindienne (Danezaa), dont les œuvres explorent l’identité mixte qui est la sienne dans la mondialisation contemporaine. Jungen a atteint une renommée internationale en transformant des objets banaux fabriqués en série en installations anthropomorphiques qui questionnent les répercussions politiques, économiques et sociales du partage interculturel. Sa critique de la culture postmoderne déstabilise tant sur les plans matériel et formel que conceptuel, et mélange les stéréotypes identitaires en mettant de l’avant les idées de fluctuation et d’instabilité.

La Biennale de Montréal présente, rarement vues, certaines œuvres réalisées par Jungen à ses débuts. Ses dessins, créés entre 1993 et 1997, mettent en évidence l’état d’esprit critique adopté en vue d’approcher des sujets sensibles touchant à l’identité, à la famille et à la communauté. Ces œuvres offrent un dialogue varié sur la relation entre sociétés d’indigènes et de colons du Canada, ainsi qu’entre communautés des Premières Nations et du tiers-monde. Jungen remet en question l’historicité afin de bouleverser les stéréotypes sur l’héritage et la sexualité, et d’enquêter sur les particularités de l’ici et du maintenant. Ses œuvres combinent à la fois les implications politiques, sensuelles et spirituelles de l’identité, ainsi que leurs diverses manifestations dans un monde de plus en plus mondialisé.
—EA

 

Dream Sequins, Mountie Bottom et Untitled fait partie de la collection de la Morris and Helen Belkin Art Gallery, The University of British Columbia. Œuvre achetée avec l’aide du programme de Subventions d’acquisition du Conseil des arts du Canada et de la Morris and Helen Belkin Foundation, 1998 (BG1838)

Brian Jungen + Geoffrey Farmer
The Lost Drawings of Geoffrey Farmer and Brian Jungen, 1995-1996/2002
Musée d’art contemporain de Montréal
19.10.2016—15.01.2017

Brian Jungen est un artiste canadien d’origine suisse et amérindienne (Danezaa). Son œuvre aborde certaines idées sur l’identité mixte, par des explorations formelles et matérielles des implications politiques, économiques et sociales du partage interculturel. L’artiste canadien Geoffrey Farmer est quant à lui connu pour les combinaisons de dessins, de films, de sculptures, de collages, de performances, de photographies et d’objets trouvés en vue de créer des installations complexes et ludiques exprimant son point de vue sur les histoires de la littérature, du théâtre et du cinéma.

Après avoir étudié ensemble au milieu des années 1990 à la Emily Carr University of Art & Design, Jungen et Farmer ont partagé un atelier à Vancouver, où ils ont collaboré à de nombreuses œuvres fondées sur le processus en soi. La Biennale de Montréal 2016 présentera The Lost Drawings of Geoffrey Farmer and Brian Jungen, série qui démontre l’intérêt dont les artistes ont dès leur début fait preuve envers la politique identitaire et les études culturelles. Ces collages surréels sont constitués de pages trouvées dans des magazines de planche à neige, sur desquelles les artistes ont dessiné des Faucheuses noires. En jouant sur l’idée surréaliste de « cadavre exquis », leur humour sinistre tourne au ridicule les stéréotypes de la masculinité, de la sexualité et de la culture majoritairement masculine de la planche à neige, afin de communiquer de nouvelles idées sur l’identité dans le monde contemporain.

The Lost Drawings of Geoffrey Farmer and Brian Jungen fait partie de la collection du Morris and Helen Belkin Art Gallery, The University of British Columbia, don anonyme, 2007

Biographie